Microsoft Teams is a popular collaboration app for sharing documents and links or organizing online meetings.
But at times, you may need to delete some chats in Teams. If you don’t know how, then follow this article.
Here I have shown how to delete One-on-one chats and group chats from Teams.
How To Delete A Chat In Microsoft Teams?
You can delete Teams chats following the methods mentioned below. Look for details.
1) Delete Personal Teams Chat
To delete one-on-one Teams chat, follow the steps given below.
Remember that you cannot delete the entire chat at once. There is no option to delete the full chat in Microsoft Teams. You need to delete it one by one.
- Open Teams and click on the Chat tab. Click on the chat option from the left side pane.
- Open the chat you want to delete. Hover over the conversation and click on More options, as shown below.
- From the given options, click on the Delete chat button.
- Confirm by clicking on the Yes button.
- To delete the chat from your smartphone, tap and hold on to the chat and select the Delete option.
If you want to delete the entire chat, you will have to delete that one by one.
The chats will be removed from your chat list only. The other person will still be able to see those chats.
The other person whose chats you have deleted will not receive any notification that you have deleted the chats.
You will not be able to get back those chats anymore. Those are not searchable and will be deleted from all of your devices.
When you start chatting with the person again, a new conversation will start any conversation history.
If you export the chats, your deleted chats will not be retrieved.
The other person can access the links, messages, attached files, calendar, and tasks you have shared in the chat from his chat.
But if you have shared any location in your chat and deleted it, the location will not be accessible from another person’s chat.
2) Delete Group Or Meeting Chat
To delete group or meeting chat, follow the steps given below:
You can delete the entire group chatting Teams if you are the admin.
- To do that, Open Teams and click on the Teams option. Here you will see all the Teams groups you are attached to.
- Click on the three dots menu attached to the Teams group you are the admin.
- Select the Delete the team option. The entire team or group will be deleted for you.
- Besides, you can also choose to delete single chats from the group.
- The chats or groups you have deleted will not be shown on other group members chats if you have deleted the entire chat group as an admin.
- The deleted chats will be removed from all the devices you use.
- When you export, the Teams inform you will not retrieve the deleted chats.
- The shared contents, links, and calendars will remain with the other person in his chat.
- If anyone adds you to the group or meeting, you will see the entire chat history again.
Frequently Asked Questions [FAQs]
1. What happens when you delete a chat in Teams?
When you delete a one-on-one chat in Microsoft Teams, the other person can still see those messages in their conversation.
The other person gets no notification when you delete the chats from your side. The deleted chats will be removed from all your devices.
2. Why do Teams delete messages?
Teams automatically delete those messages if a retention policy is configured to delete the chats.
3. How do I retrieve old Teams messages?
You can only retrieve the old saved messages. The messages you have deleted cannot be recovered.
To retrieve these old Teams messages, click on your profile picture from the upper right corner and select the saved option.
From the above article hope it is clear how to delete Microsoft Teams chat.
If you have further queries related to this article, ask us in the comments section provided below.